Stefan Grossman's Guitar Workshop Instructional and Historical DVDs Books and Materials
At Stefan Grossman's Guitar Workshop - Buy 3 Items, get 1 FREE at Checkout! Every Day!

English Guitarists - 3 CD Combo

  • English Guitarists - 3 CD Combo
    Hard Copy    $38.00  Item Number:  English

    Product Details


    Dave Evans - Sad Pig Dance • Davey Graham - The Complete Guitarist • Bert Jansch - Thirteen Down

    Sad Pig Dance:

    As a by-product of the folk boom of the Sixties, there was a fingerpicking guitar boom in the Seventies. In England the most important influence was the Scottish guitarist Davey Graham. Davey took ideas from American blues and jazz players to develop his own approach to the instrument for playing a wide range of material. He hit the scene as an important generation of guitarists were in their formative years, and set a standard that inspired John Renbourn, Bert Jansch, Martin Carthy, and many others. The guitarists who began recording in the Seventies had plenty of options to build on; where American guitarists tended to be just guitarists, a young English player could emulate Bert, who is even more significant as a singer-songwriter than as an instrumentalist. Or he could look to Carthy, who forged a highly effective style of backing traditional vocals. Bert, John, and Davey had all written excellent instrumentals, so there were handy models for aspiring composers as well. Some of the guitarists who started out in this milieu have gone on to be relatively well-known, like Roy Harper and Martin Simpson, but others have fallen through the cracks. None is more interesting and original than Dave Evans.

    Dave's approach to the instrument certainly owes in a general way to what was going on around him in the Sixties, but his sound is utterly unique, as is his feeling for harmony. Some of Bert's beautifully understated early compositions (one of which is on this recording) are relevant, and others remind the listener of the impressionistic composers, particularly the maverick, Eric Satie. You can also hear echoes of what was going on in the British rock world and even traces of country blues playing. But Dave never sounds like he's forcing stylistic marriages. Like any true artist, he has digested his influences and come out singing his own song. 

     Track Listing(click on tracks for mp3 sound samples)

    1. Stagefright *
    2. Chaplinesque
    3. The Train and the River
    4. Veronica
    5. Captain
    6. Knuckles and Buster
    7. Medley: Mole’s Moan &The Gentle Man Trap
    8. Sad Pig Dance *
    9. Raining Cats and Dogs
    10. Braziliana *
    11. Sun and Moon
    12. Steppenwolf
    13. Morocco John *
    14. Sneaky
    15. Whistling Milkman *
    16. Insanity Rag
    17. Willie Me *
    18. Tear Away
    19. Jessica *
    20. Grey Hills *
    21. Ugly Duckling *
    22. Jolymont *
    23. Cold Feet *

    Those tunes marked with a star (*) are included in the tab/music PDF booklet on this CD. 
    You will need Adobe Acrobat (a free download) to open and print this file from your computer.

    The Complete Guitarist:

    Davey Graham is a perfectionist. Since 1961, when he recorded the quite remarkable - and largely unnoticed - 3/4 AD with Alexis Koerner, he has restricted his record output, and almost everything he has recorded has been of a high standard. So when he agrees that this is one of the finest records he has made, it really has to be one of the finest guitar records of recent years... Throughout his career he has mixed these high personal standards with an inventive, daring approach to music. Because he plays acoustic guitar he may have been labeled as a 'folkie', but nothing could be further from the truth. He knows a great deal about folk music - and the folk music of North Africa and India as well as Britain and America - but he also has a strong interest in medieval music, later classical music, jazz and the blues.

    The sixteen tunes on this album were all chosen because they were instrumentals Davey likes and enjoys playing, rather than to demonstrate particular guitar styles but of course the results work on both levels. This album is both an intriguing musical selection and a tribute to his remarkable technique. He has included hymn tunes, a selection of Irish melodies that are a great personal favorite of his. "They are mostly pipe and fiddle tunes and I've been working on them for some time. I take a great interest in the Irish scene and I'm learning the language". Alongside these there are the classical and medieval pieces ranging from Vaughan Williams' Down Ampney to the Prelude From The Suite In D Minor by Robert De Visee ("a Frenchman who matched Dowland")

     Track Listing:  (click on tracks for mp3 sound samples)

    1. Medley: Lord Mayo* & Lord Inchiquin
    2. Lashtal's Room
    3. Ein Feste Burg (A Mighty Fortress Is Our God)
    4. The Road To Lisdoonvana (Jig and Reel)
    5. Renaissance Piece
    6. Hardiman The Fiddler
    7. Sarah
    8. Frieze Britches
    9. Blues For Gino
    10. The Hunter's Purse
    11. Prelude From The Suite In D Minor
    12. Fairies' Hornpipe
    13. Forty-Ton Parachute
    14. The Gold Ring
    15. Down Ampney
    16. Banish Misfortune

    Those tunes marked with a star (*) are included in the tab/music PDF booklet on this CD. 
    You will need Adobe Acrobat (a free download) to open and print this file from your computer.

    Thirteen Down:

    "Bert Jansch formed the Bert Jansch Conundrum in the late 1970s as a touring unit for his solo performances following the breakup of the original Pentangle. Thirteen Down, recorded in 1979, was the only studio album by this aggregation. Joining Jansch here are multi-instrumentalists Martin Jenkins and Nigel Portman-Smith along with drummer Luce Langridge. In addition, Jansch's Pentangle vocal mate, Jacquie McShee, guests on "If I Had a Lover."

    The selection of tunes offered on Thirteen Down is uniformly strong. Several tracks could best be described as "funky folk music," especially the instrumental, "Una Linea di Dolcezza." Other standout tracks include "Down River," "Time and Love," "In My Mind" and "Sweet Mother Earth." The blend of British Isles folk, jazz and pop will be familiar to fans of Pentangle, and Jansch's vocals and guitar work are as unique as ever. Jenkins' violin and flute provide the textural colors that keep the arrangements varied from song to song. Ranking with the best work of Bert Jansch's lengthy career, Thirteen Down is a must-have for folk and acoustic music enthusiasts." – Jim Newsom,

    Track Listing: (click on tracks for mp3 sound samples)

    1. In My Mind
    2. Sovay
    3. Where Did My Life Go?
    4. Bridge
    5. Time and Love
    6. If I Had a Lover
    7. Una Line di Dolcezza
    8. Let Me Sing
    9. Down River
    10. Nightfall
    11. Ask Your Daddy
    12. Sweet Mother Earth
    13. Single Rose

    Related Products