Stefan Grossman's Guitar Workshop Instructional and Historical DVDs Books and Materials

Postage & Handling is FREE For All Domestic USA Orders!

Sacred Music For Fingerstyle Guitar

El has concertized throughout the United States, but is now concentrating on guitar instruction, workshops and writing, in addition to composing and arranging pieces for guitar. He has written many books of guitar pieces, including several major folios written or co-written for Mel Bay Publications.

While he plays many styles, El’s music is characterized by lyrical beauty and a sensitivity to melodic phrases enhanced with tasteful arpeggios, cross-picking, and walking bass lines. His uptempo pieces evidence energy and pulse. His artistry has been praised by numerous publications, including Acoustic Guitar Magazine, Fingerstyle Guitar Magazine and Guitar Player Magazine.

El’s music has been hailed by critics as “stirring … unbridled acoustic beauty” and “drop-dead gorgeous” (Guitar Player Magazine) and as a “treasure” (Dirty Linen Magazine).

  • Taught by: El McMeen Add to Wish List
    Hard Copy   $29.95  Item Number:  GW911

    Sacred Music For Fingerstyle Guitar

    Hard Copy - Enter Quantity and Add to Cart for $29.95
    Direct Download the DVD Guitar Lesson now for only $24.95
    Download Now

    Product Details


    "El McMeen's solo acoustic guitar sings soulfully throughout his playing... a great introduction to the lovely, lyrical CGDGAD tuning." - Guitar Player Magazine

    The body of sacred music takes many forms and, except for the area of gospel music, has not been routinely explored by fingerstyle guitarists. Yet there are techniques available to the fingerstyle player that can be used to create evocative and beautiful arrangements of religious music. In this DVD lesson, El McMeen demonstrates the use of various techniques (including harp style arpeggios and alternating bass) as well as the open tuning CGDGAD, to make the power and beauty of this music accessible and exciting to the fingerstyle guitar player.

    Titles include: In Christ There Is No East Or West, Be Thou My Vision, Not Alone For Mighty Empire, In The Bleak Mid-Winter, Amazing Grace, This Is My Father's World and Silent Night.

    88 minutes - Level 2  - Detailed tab/music PDF file on the DVD

    Video Sample

    Related Products