Stefan Grossman's Guitar Workshop Instructional and Historical DVDs Books and Materials

Postage & Handling is FREE For All Domestic USA Orders!

Novelty Guitar Instrumentals

  • Novelty Guitar Instrumentals
    Hard Copy    $15.00  Item Number:  sggw134

    Artist: Various Publisher: SGGW CD Collection

    Product Details


    featuring Ton Van Bergeyk, Dick Fegy, Lasse Johansson, Tim Nicolai, Bob Evans, Tony Marcus & David Laibman

    This album is a collection of some of the finest guitarists playing today in the acoustic fingerpicking idiom. It was recorded over a twelve month period and in such places as England, Sweden, Canada and America. It presents a wide assortment of music from the classic rags of Joseph Lamb to Dave Laibman's arrangements of fiddle tunes to original instrumentals played by the Dutch fingerstyle wizard Ton Van Bergeyk and the Welsh two-step nylon strung hero Tim Nicolai.

    Track Listing: (click on tracks for mp3 sound samples)

    1. Bowery BuckDick Fegy
    2. Cataract RagLasse Johansson & Claes Palmquist
    3. Circus TimeTim Nicolai
    4. Sensation - A RagBob Evans
    5. T.N.T.Ton Van Bergeyk
    6. Junk Man RagLasse Johansson
    7. Colored AristocracyDavid Laibman
    8. Bohemian RagTony Marcus
    9. By A WaterfallTon Van Bergeyk
    10. Ragtime NightingaleLasse Johansson & Claes Palmquist
    11. Dallas RagDavid Laibman
    12. Plymouth HouseTim Nicolai
    13. Fizz WaterLasse Johansson
    14. Harlem RagBob Evans
    15. Joe RagJim McLennan
    16. Boys, My Money's All GoneDavid Laibman

    All the arrangements are included in the 70 pagetab/music PDF booklet on this CD except for Bohemian Rag. You will need Adobe Acrobat (a free download) to open and print this file from your computer.

    Review: I'm in heaven again! I bought this record back in the 70's (I believe) at Tower Records in SF and simply loved the album. I played it over and over again until scratches made it too hard to listen to. (I had other Kicking Mule records also that I loved). I had periodically searched to see if Kicking Mule had transferred the record to CD format, and only recently found it. Now, I'm in heaven again, listening to it.

    The audio quality is as good as could be expected, based on when and how the guitar sessions were recorded (it's still quite good, but varies because the tracks were recorded all over the world (Sweden, England, Canada, USA). The artists are incredibly talented. I'm in awe. For some folks, if you haven't ever heard this type of music before, it might open up a whole new world to you. I know it did for me. - John S/Amazon Customer Review



    Related Products