Stefan Grossman's Guitar Workshop Instructional and Historical DVDs Books and Materials

Postage & Handling is FREE For All Domestic USA Orders!

Masters of the Ragtime Guitar- Echoes From the Snowball Club

  • Masters of the Ragtime Guitar- Echoes From the Snowball Club
    Hard Copy    $15.00  Item Number:  sggw138

    Artist: Various Publisher: SGGW CD Collection

    Product Details


    featuring Lasse Johansson, Duck Baker, Ton Van Bergeyk, Tim Nicolai & Claes Palmqvist

    Ragtime guitar is one of the most exciting and complex styles for a guitarist to master. The techniques involved can become very complicated and for a novice these can sometimes interfere with the spirit of the music. But in the hands of a talented and experienced guitarist this music can capture a unique texture as well as being one of the most rhythmic and attractive musical forms known. This album presents four of the leading exponents of ragtime guitar. Their approach to ragtime differs, yet each one manages to capture that all important element called "feel."

    Duck Baker's playing on his nylon strung flamenco guitar has excited audiences throughout Europe, Japan and America. He brings an energetic spirit to each tune that he plays. His right hand technique coupled with the use of a flamenco guitar creates a strong and rhythmic sound.

    Tim Nicolai also uses a nylon strung guitar though his technique is more classical oriented. His rendition of Solace - A Mexican Serenade demonstrates clearly how well classic rags can be adapted to a classical guitar approach. The shades and tones of Tim's arrangements show a gentleness and true understanding for the music.

    Likewise the Dutch Wizard, Ton Van Bergeyk brings his own touch and humor to two original ragtime oriented instrumentals. Ton's command of the steel string guitar is very impressive. His arrangements combine many elements and clearly show his love for the music of Scott Joplin to Glenn Miller! Ton has recorded several solo albums on as well as being heavily featured on the album I Got Rhythm (SGGW133).

    Lasse Johansson adds another approach to ragtime guitar with his four solos. His version of Creole Belles is very interesting and demonstrates how successfully a brass band arrangement can be adapted to the guitar. It is also interesting to hear this composition as one of the sections has become very popular through the playing and recordings of Mississippi John Hurt.

    Lasse's duets with Claes Palmqvist are fine examples of the art of duet guitar arrangements. Together they have created delicate and yet spirited version of two well known rags. Both arrangements are highly successful and each adds a different dimension to their collaborations.

    This collection is an exciting tour de force in ragtime guitar. Duck, Ton, Tim, Claes and Lasse are truly masters of this style. And as usual the guitar players who are eager to try to pick up these tunes will have a happy time with the PDF tab/music booklet that has been prepared to go along with this project and can be found on the CD. This booklet presents many of the tunes played.

    Track Listing: (click on tracks for mp3 sound samples)

    1. Original Dixieland One-Step* - Lasse Johansson
    2. Chromatic Rag* - Lasse Johansson & Claes Palmquist
    3. Bull Frog Blues* - Tim Nicolai
    4. R.A.F. Shuffle* - Ton Van Bergeyk
    5. Cleopatra Rag - Duck Baker
    6. Russian Rag* - Lasse Johansson
    7. Solace - A Mexican Serenade* - Tim Nicolai
    8. Creole Belles* - Lasse Johansson
    9. Heliotrope Bouquet* - Lasse Johansson & Claes Palmquist
    10. Patricia Rag - Duck Baker
    11. Light and Bitter* - Ton Van Bergeyk
    12. Smiles and Chuckles* - Tim Nicolai
    13. Echoes From The Snowball Club* - Lasse Johansson

    Those tunes marked with a star (*) are included in the tab/music PDF booklet on this CD.
    You will need Adobe Acrobat (a free download) to open and print this file from your computer.

    Review: Available at last! I've waited years for this gem of an album to make its CD debut. A wonderful collection of ragtime duets and solos by an assorment of master guitarists. Many of the names aren't known to the general public, but if you love great guitar playing you're in for a treat with this. Highly recommended. – Kevin Traube/Amazon Customer Review

    Related Products